Under 14's Championship

Image for Under 14's Championship

Suraj Singh (Cardiff) won this event to become Welsh Under 14's Champion. This was a well deserved success for Suraj who has won three out of the four ranking events at this level this season. He reached the final after an excellent semi final with Lewis Samuel (Pontycymmer)

Lewis had the first shot at a tricky black in the deciding frame only to wobble it, and leave it on the pocket for Suraj to gratefully take for the match.

Ten years old Alfie Davies (Barry) showed his tremendous potential by coming through the bottom half of the draw, beating No#2 seed Tyler Rees in round 2, before potting his way into the final with a fine win over Brandon leadbetter.

The Final

The final was a potting dual, maybe young Alfie went for a few to many against a more experienced opponent. The first two frames went to Suraj on the black before he won the third more decisively for the match and title of Welsh Under 14's Champion.

John Dobson said this was the most nerve racking and exciting climax to a tournament he could remember as it was so close at the top of the ranking list. Suraj Sing had already qualified for the Welsh Team but if Alfie won he would finish in the top six. A crowd of players still incontention and their parents waited in suspense while officials frantically collated points. After the presentation of trophies the suspense was finally lifted as the Welsh Under 14's team to face Rep. Ireland at the Celtic Challenge was announced. Congatulations to the following players who made the team.

  1. Suraj Singh (Cardiff) 1680 points
  2. Rhydian Stringer (Barry) 1110
  3. Tyler Rees (Llanelli) 1080
  4. Lewis Samuel (Pontycymmer) 940
  5. Tom Davies (Swansea) 930
  6. Brandon Leadbetter (Cross Keys) 920

The Plate competition was won by Lewys Graham (Cross keys) who beat Caerphilly's Zack Jones 2-1 in a very close final.

Results Table:

  Suraj Singh 2                  
  Tom Davies 0 Suraj Singh 2        
  Lewis Samuel 2 Lewis Samuel 1        
  Lewis Burke 1     Suraj Singh 3    
          Suraj Singh  
  Brandon Leadbetter 2     Alfie Davies 0  
  Rhydian Stringer 0 Brandon Leadbetter 0    
  Alfie Davies
2 Alfie Davies 2        
  Elliot Thomas

Back to previous page


© Welsh Snooker (WBSA) 2024

Please Note: We have placed cookies on your computer to help make this website better, please read our Privacy Policy for further information. You can change your cookie settings in your browser at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK with our use of cookies.