Morgan wins Welsh Masters Championship 2012

Darren Morgan won this year’s Masters Championship event defeating Ian Sargeant in the final.

With only the winner of the match competing at the IBSF World Championships in Egypt later this year it was understandable why both players failed to produce their best.

Morgan’s victory was made somewhat easier when Elfed Evans decided not to make the journey from North Wales secure in the knowledge that he has finished as number one in the rankings.

After breezing past his brother Wayne in the last sixteen Morgan went into overdrive against Mal Wilcox in the quarter-final compiling breaks of 109, 84 and 82. It was a similar story in the semi-final with three breaks over fifty.

Ian Sargeant was impressive on his way to the final with convincing wins over Bob Watkins, Jeff Denscombe and John Terry.

Simon Morgan beat former internationals John Mills and David Hooper to reach his first Masters semi-final.

John Terry needed breaks of 41, 43 and a clearance of 83 against Jason Humphries to reach the other semi-final.

Results Table:

  Darren Morgan
  Mal Wilcox
0 Darren Morgan 3        
  Simon Morgan
3 Simon Morgan 0        
  David Hooper
0     Darren Morgan 3    
          Darren Morgan  
  John Terry
3     Ian Sargeant 0  
  Jason Humphries
1 John Terry 0    
  Ian Sargeant
3 Ian Sargeant 3        
  Jeff Denscombe

Back to previous page


© Welsh Snooker (WBSA) 2024

Please Note: We have placed cookies on your computer to help make this website better, please read our Privacy Policy for further information. You can change your cookie settings in your browser at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK with our use of cookies.