Welsh Masters Event One

Image for Welsh Masters Event One

Players from all over Wales made up the 27 strong field which contested the first masters event of the season at Trecenydd Snooker Club, Caerphilly.

Darren Morgan (Newbridge) was the winner.

Bob Watkins (Bargoed) continued his great run of form in Masters events beating John Mills (Bridgend), Dean Thomas (Llanelli) and Wayne Morgan (Cross Keys) to reach another final.

Former Welsh Champion Elfed Evans made the long journey from Pwllheli and comfortably beat John Terry in the quarter-final before losing to Morgan.

Dean Thomas (Llanelli) reached his first Masters quarter-final with convincing wins over Andrew Tugwell (Bargoed) and Keith Thomas (Anglesey).

Wayne Morgan defeated Welsh internationals Steve Thomas (Pwllheli) and David Hooper (Ebbw Vale) to reach the last eight before narrowly losing to Watkins.

Results Table:

  Darren Morgan
  Ron Jones
0 Darren Morgan 3        
  Elfed Evans 3 Elfed Evans 0        
  John Terry
0     Darren Morgan 3    
          Darren Morgan  
  Robert Watkins
3     Robert Watkins 0  
  Dean Thomas
2 Robert Watkins 3    
  Wayne Morgan
3 Wayne Morgan 2        
  Steve Thomas

Back to previous page


© Welsh Snooker (WBSA) 2024

Please Note: We have placed cookies on your computer to help make this website better, please read our Privacy Policy for further information. You can change your cookie settings in your browser at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK with our use of cookies.