Masters Event 1 Results

The opening event of out 2019-2020 season was Masters Event 1, held in Ammanford, with 30 players meeting up last Sunday.

The first round matched up two of last seasons higher ranked players, Darren Morgan and Gavin Lewis, with Gavin coming through a tight match 3 frames to 2. In the top half of the draw Rhydian Richards was in impressive form, only dropping one frame in his matches on route to the Final.

The bottom half of the draw proved to be much more competitive with many matches going the distance, but Steven Thomas fought his way through beating Simon Williams in the semi-final.

The final started positively for Rhydian who quickly built a 2 frame lead, but Steven was not to be denied with breaks of 52 and 51 in succesive frames making the match level. The final frame was closely contested but Steven clinched the match to give him a fine start to the long season ahead, taking his first Masters win in the process.

Results Table:

Last 32
  • Martin Dylan3
  • John-Henry Griffiths 2
  • Michael Boucher
  • bye
  • Alan Hurley0
  • Rhydian Richards 3
  • Don Newcombe0
  • Matthew Farrant3
  • Steve James0
  • Chris Rees3
  • khurram khan3
  • Keith Thomas0
  • Gavin Lewis3
  • Darren Morgan2
  • Jason Veal1
  • Jason Tucker3
  • Andrew Isitt3
  • Dean Thomas1
  • Kelvin Hayman0
  • Tim James3
  • Wayne Morgan2
  • Simon Williams3
  • john breeze3
  • Darryl James0
  • John Pellew0
  • Alun Squire3
  • Colin Lane 0
  • Byron Phillips3
  • Jeff Denscombew/o
  • Ieuan Richards0
  • Steven Thomas3
  • Steve Evans0
Last 16
  • Martin Dylan3
  • Michael Boucher0
  • Rhydian Richards 3
  • Matthew Farrant0
  • Chris Rees3
  • khurram khan1
  • Gavin Lewis1
  • Jason Tucker3
  • Andrew Isitt3
  • Tim James0
  • Simon Williams3
  • john breeze2
  • Alun Squire3
  • Byron Phillips2
  • Jeff Denscombe0
  • Steven Thomas3
  • Martin Dylan0
  • Rhydian Richards 3
  • Chris Rees1
  • Jason Tucker3
  • Andrew Isitt2
  • Simon Williams3
  • Alun Squire2
  • Steven Thomas3
  • Rhydian Richards 3
  • Jason Tucker1
  • Simon Williams1
  • Steven Thomas3
  • Rhydian Richards 2
  • Steven Thomas3

Top Breaks

Player Break Notes
Alun Squire 84
Alun Squire 66 Clearance
Jason Tucker 62
Steven Thomas 56
Steven Thomas 51
Rhydian Richards 51

Back to previous page


© Welsh Snooker (WBSA) 2024

Please Note: We have placed cookies on your computer to help make this website better, please read our Privacy Policy for further information. You can change your cookie settings in your browser at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK with our use of cookies.