Under 21s Event 1 Result

A highly talented field converged at the Kings Club for the opening Under 21s of the new season.

In the top half of the draw, Dylan Emery lined up a tasty semi final against Tyler Rees, seeing off Olly Bridle and Liam Davies both by three frames to nil. Tyler's route was similarly dominant, but Luke James and Bradley Tyson both took a frame each in their 3-1 defeats, no mean feat against Tyler. In the semi, Tyler won the opening frame with a 53 break and was also on to win the second but missed the final brown and Dylan cleared to draw level at 1-1. Dylan got in early in frame 3 and made a 91 break to take a 2-1 lead. Dylan finished off the match 3-1 with an excellent 98 break missing a difficult black down the side rail.

The other half of the draw, Conor Caniff made the most of his bye to book his semi final place with a 3-0 win over Ciaran Paul (himself a 3-1 winner against Ollie Briffet-Payne) Alfie Davies beat Jacob Boyle 3-0 and Rhys Morgans 3-1 before facing Conor. The semi final was a more subdued match with some missed chances on both sides but Conor ran out a 3-0 winner.

As ever, these finals often start with tight safety and this one was no different, with Dylan edging the frame. Frames 2 and 3 were equally edgy, but each one went to Dylan and with it the overall competition win.

Above, we see Dylan being presented with the winners trophy by Gordon Pantall, below Conor with the runners up trophy.

Results Table:

Last 16
  • Olly Bridle0
  • Dylan Emery3
  • Liam Davies
  • bye
  • Luke James1
  • Tyler Rees3
  • Bradley Tyson
  • bye
  • Ollie Briffett Payne 1
  • ciaran paul3
  • Conor Caniff
  • bye
  • Alfie Davies3
  • Jacob Boyle0
  • Rhys Morgans
  • bye
  • Dylan Emery3
  • Liam Davies0
  • Tyler Rees3
  • Bradley Tyson1
  • ciaran paul0
  • Conor Caniff3
  • Alfie Davies3
  • Rhys Morgans1
  • Dylan Emery3
  • Tyler Rees1
  • Conor Caniff3
  • Alfie Davies0
  • Dylan Emery3
  • Conor Caniff0

Top Breaks

Player Break Notes
Dylan Emery 98
Dylan Emery 91
Alfie Davies 56
Dylan Emery 54
Tyler Rees 53
Dylan Emery 52
Tyler Rees 48
Conor Caniff 41
Alfie Davies 33

Back to previous page


© Welsh Snooker (WBSA) 2024

Please Note: We have placed cookies on your computer to help make this website better, please read our Privacy Policy for further information. You can change your cookie settings in your browser at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK with our use of cookies.