EBSA Championships 2022 - Albania

Wales’ top amateurs are all set for the 2022 EBSA European Championships, taking place in Albania from the 7th-19th June.

There are 16 players from Wales all hoping to build on the success from last year’s event which saw Dylan Emery turn professional after winning the U21’s Championship in Portugal.

The Under 18’s Championship gets underway on Tuesday, followed by the Under 21’s on Wednesday. The Seniors Championship starts on the 11th June, followed by the main men’s event on the 13th June. The Team Championship gets underway on the 16th June.

The winners of the U21 and Men’s events will once again earn a two-year tour card for the professional Snooker tour.

Welsh European qualifying events have taken place throughout the 2021-22 season, with 15-year-old Liam Davies winning the U18, U21 and men’s tournaments to secure his place in all three events.

The Under 18’s event will also feature Welsh U18/U21 number two Oliver Briffet-Payne, current U14 and U16 champion Riley Powell, Jack Annalls (playing in his first international competition), and Zac Cosker.

Brad Ferguson and Rhys Morgans join Davies, Briffet-Payne, and Cosker in representing Wales in the Under 21’s Championship.

Welsh Amateur number one Alex Taubman, Liam Davies, Ben Fortey, Matthew Roberts, and Andrew Rogers make up the Welsh field competing in the men’s event.

In the seniors event, Darren Morgan will be aiming to win his seventh title in a row (12th overall), with 2018 quarter-finalist Steven Thomas, 2010 semi-finalist Philip Williams, Gareth Edwards, and Darryl James, who’re both playing in the seniors for the first time, all making up a strong Welsh contingent.

In the Teams Championship, the Welsh men’s teams will be made up of Liam Davies, Alex Taubman, Ben Fortey, and Matthew Roberts. The Welsh seniors teams will feature Darren Morgan, Philip Williams, Steven Thomas, and Gareth Edwards.

Full details about the tournament including draws and player lists can be viewed on https://www.ebsa.tv/.

Good luck to all players!

Back to previous page


© Welsh Snooker (WBSA) 2024

Please Note: We have placed cookies on your computer to help make this website better, please read our Privacy Policy for further information. You can change your cookie settings in your browser at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK with our use of cookies.